“If you only knew how much those little moments with you mattered to me.” – Unknown

Life seems to going at 100 miles an hour. The days, weeks, months just fly past. We are always busy parenting, working on the house, generally trying to make a life for ourselves. It is only very occasionally the husband and I take a moment to spend some quality time together. Away from everything else; away from our work, away from the daily chores, away from being a mummy and daddy. We both love being a family unit but it’s so easy to get stuck in a rut of viewing your partner as a family provider, a house fixer, a father to your children. So when we take some time out from everyday life and have some quality time together, I find myself falling in love with him all over again. In these moments I no longer see him just as a good father to our son but as a good man in his own right. I remember why I fell in love with him in the first place, how much he can make me laugh, why I fancied him. After a romantic get away, when we get back to normal family life I find that I appreciate all the little things so much more, the selfless things he does each day, just something as simple as bringing me a coffee each morning. This has become such a habit that I often don’t even acknowledge it. This morning, after our weekend away together, I really appreciated it. Even though I say it every day, the words can get drowned out by the chaos of everyday life. So, husband I want you to know that I really really do mean it when I say I love you.

P.S. The appreciation could also be due to me still feeling a little hungover from the weekend! The husband is always whinging that we have no photos of us together these days as I hate my giant moon face so you have no idea just how drunk I had to get in order to take this photo. I’m assuming I’m still a tad squiffy now as I’m posting it!

One thought on ““If you only knew how much those little moments with you mattered to me.” – Unknown

Leave a comment